The Song Rising Cover!

The Song Rising finally has a cover! And it’t it beautiful? I was so excited by this cover, I can’t even begin to tell you.
Credit for pictures are at the end!

IMG_1890

I stayed up until midnight to see this. I know, midnight isn’t late but when you’ve got a headache and have taken painkillers for it, that’s a hard job. I should also be studying for exams but blog writing is more fun.

I love it. I know it’s going to receive some flak because it is quite different from the originals (and I will have a post tomorrow about the new look covers once I have seen them) but I think it’s nice. I knew they were never going to stick with a red and blue theme, there’s only so many combinations you can do for that, but I quite like this pop of colour with a white front (and possibly the back to?)
The spine makes me very happy, because it’s still similar to the original ones and will still look lovely on my shelf, which we all know is very important but it’s also bright which will make a nice change to my mostly colourless book shelf.

tumblr_o85lljrlZG1sb77sbo3_500

I think it’s a nice change and it’s certainly eye catching. I would pick that up in a book store to see what it was about. The crown in the flame certainly makes me wonder what’s going to happen to Paige now (like I wasn’t before). David Mann is incredible with the covers and I’ve loved every single one so far. I can’t wait to see what other countries publish it as. I love looking at other interpretations of the covers (have you seen the Vietnamese covers? Makes me want to learn the language just to justifying owning that edition).

I can’t wait to see the finished book and hold it in my hands. Only about nine months to go.

 

Picture credit!

For the first photo: https://twitter.com/TheBoneSeason/status/738369612690030593

For the spines : http://sshannonauthor.tumblr.com/post/145312085313/here-are-larger-versions-of-the-cover-for-the-song

Leave a Reply

