Ramblings of an Angry Fan

tumblr_o85212aN8H1s2msv3o1_500

I wasn’t going to post until next week but I’ve seen a lot of hate and negativity over the new Bone Season covers and I have a few things to say about it.

I like them. Do I like the old ones better? Yeah, probably but I also like the old Harry Potter covers better because they were my first covers. Gina Beck, Simon Bailey and Ramin Karimaloo will always be my favourite stage Christine, Raoul and Erik because they were the first ones I heard live. The London Love Never Dies will always be my favourite because it was my first. Seeing a pattern? This is my favourite series in the world. It came into my life at the right time and I’ve stayed up into the wee hours of the morning to see announcements and new covers and book titles which I haven’t done before. I’ve spent hours reading and crying and laughing over this story and the first time Samantha Shannon tweeted me, I fan-girled so hard. I haven’t been this in love with a series since Harry Potter, if that doesn’t say something I don’t know what does.

The new covers, to me, are still exciting. To start with, you aren’t going to buy book 2-7 before reading book one, mostly because it wouldn’t make much sense. Secondly, if you picked up the new cover, the first thing you’d see is the title: The Bone Season. Doesn’t that sound intriguing?! Bones: what kind of bones? Animal, human? What kind of season is it? Winter, Spring? I wonder what it’s about. Then you see the poppy and you wonder what that has to do with bones. Does the poppy mean it’s a warmer season? Is it a specific type of poppy (duh)? And then you read the back and that is what really draws you in. What is she doing that could get her killed? Oh, clairvoyance! That does sound interesting!

I first heard of this story because Carrie Hope Fletcher got sent an ARC (Advanced Readers Copy) and said how much she loved it so I went to my local book store and picked it up. The cover was an added bonus. Of course I got excited when I saw how beautiful The Mime Order looked but I was more excited over the story inside. I can safely say that I have picked up plenty of books because of their cover but have quickly put them back because I wasn’t interested in the story. I loved that book worms (or dragons) never judge a book by its cover but right now that’s all I’m seeing. Yes, it’s disappointing but if you decide out of pure pettiness to not read The Song Rising because of the cover, maybe re-think how bigger fan you claim to be. I’m here for the story, not the cover. No offence to anyone who likes them, but the cover of City of Bones is a little tacky what with a half-naked man on it but look at how well that sold!

I’m so hurt and angry that people are tearing down the book and saying how disappointing it is that it, not only got pushed back, but the cover is ‘ugly.’ Guess what, the hard backs (which most people will probably get, myself included because not everywhere is Australia) have removable dust jackets and it’s not even that long to wait anymore. If you’re a fan of the books, you’ll still read the book. And the spines still match really well which means you don’t have to worry about it looking ‘bad’ on the shelf.

Please, I beg you, don’t say anything nasty to Samantha or Bloomsbury. Just wait for the book and read the book which you, apparently, love. Please. All this negativity is just going to drag down sales and I don’t want that for Samantha or these books.

I’m sorry that this is quite long. My spoiler free review for the Bone Season next week.

Leave a Reply

