2016 Mid-Year Freak Out Tag!

Originally created by Chami and Ely (links to their channels down below), and I saw it on Catriona’s channel (also below). Essentially, this tag is to round up how your year of reading has gone so far and is normally done as a video but I’m way too shy to do that!

Question One: Best book you’ve read so far in 2016?
This is really hard because so many of the books I’ve read have been fantastic but I think I’m going to have to say A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas. This book has stuck with me and I cannot stop thinking about it. The Inner Circle and the City of Starlight captured me in a way no book has done in a while so, that’s why I’m going with ACOMAF

Question Two: Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2016.
I haven’t really read any sequels this year but I would probably say Crown of Midnight by Sarah J Maas (this is going to be a lot of Sarah, I can just feel it). This was probably one of my favourites in the series because of a ship and the plot twist at the end which I didn’t see coming. And the one at the very end on the last page. Damn, that women can write a plot twist!

Question Three: New release you haven’t read yet, but want to.
On the Other Side by Carrie Hope Fletcher. I love Carrie so much, she’s my favourite YouTuber and she just released her first fiction novel which I am dying to read but haven’t been able to yet. It follows the story of Evie Snow who has just passed away, however, to get to the other side, she must go back and make things right. It sounds really interesting and I’ve never seen anything like it before in a novel

Question Four: Most anticipated release for the second half of the year.
Empire of Storms by Sarah J Maas. I’m Maas trash, I know!

Question Five: Biggest disappointment.
I wasn’t disappointed with any novel I read this year. Not really. I will say that Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard took me a while to get into, but I was also studying for an exam at the time, which I think was part of the problem. Towards the middle and especially the end, I really enjoyed it. The plot twist was awesome and I still need to pick up Glass Sword.

Question Six: Biggest surprise.
For this one I’m going to pick City of Bones by Cassandra Clare. My best friend has been badgering me to read this for, probably eight years and I’ve known him for nine! I knew a lot about this novel going in, like that thing that Valentine reveals at the end and Malec so, I wasn’t expecting it to be as good as it would have been if I had of read it cold but I really loved it and I read the first half of the series and Clockwork Angel in the four weeks I had off from school (I read slow, I know).

Question Seven: Favourite new author. (Debut or new to you)

Alwyn Hamilton. Her first novel Rebel of the Sands came out in March and I absolutely loved it!

Question Eight: Newest fictional crush.
Jem Castairs. Enough said

Question Nine: Newest favourite character.
Can I have more than one? Because I can’t pick just one.

Question Ten: Book that made you cry.
Oh look, Maas again! Heir of Fire made me SOB! I believe it’s chapter 54 ripped my heart from my chest, tore it in two, threw it to the floor, stomped on it a few times, set it on fire and then put it back into my chest. I have not cried that hard in a novel since Deathly Hallows. By the time I got to the end, I had actually cried myself out and I could actually cry any more.

Question Eleven: Book that made you happy.
All of them?
At some point every book I have read this year has made me happy and made me smile or laugh until I cried so, I’m not going to pick just one, I’m going to pick all of them.

Question Twelve: Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year (or received)
The Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton and my hard back copy of The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon (which is signed and I got for $10. Literal bargin)
Question Thirteen: What books do you need to read by the end of the year?
Oh gosh, you asked for it.
City of Fallen Angels, City of Heavenly Fire, City of Something, Clockwork Prince, Clockwork Princess, Lady Midnight (Cassandra Clare), Blue Lily, Lily Blue, The Raven King (Maggie Stiefvater), Truth Witch (Susan Dennard), Dragonfly in Amber (Diana Gabaldon)
There are more but I haven’t thought that far in advanced and I have all of November and December off from school so, I should be able to do it.

Question Fourteen: Favourite Book Community Member
I’m not really in the Book Community. I’ve only just started a blog and I haven’t made any friends here and there are lots of wonderful booktubers and bloggers. But if I had to pick someone I would pick Sasha Alsberg at A Bookutopia on Youtube.
Last year I saw one of Sasha’s videos as a recommended and I watched it because it said “Hot Topic Haul” and I was interested. I ended up watching about 12 of her videos in one night and the next week I got A Court of Thrones and Roses because I had seen her video on it and I had read some stuff online and it had sounded really good. I then got Outlander for Christmas and my sister got me Throne of Glass and I’ve now read 21 books this year which I didn’t think was possible for me. I had hardly read for years. Since Harry had finished, I had probably read about 30 books. Which really isn’t a lot. And I’m pretty sure that’s too many! But thanks to Sasha talking about and loving books the way she does, I remembered how much I loved stories and being swept away and it was just nice. So, that’s why I would pick Sasha but I do love so many booktubers and bloggers.

Little Book Owl – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Vpwn9x20Yg 

ReadLikeWildFire – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EB8OrYHBvM8

Ely Jaybe – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X_Wh0rPGfRg

Sasha Alsberg – https://www.youtube.com/user/abookutopia

Carrie Hope Fletcher – https://www.youtube.com/user/ItsWayPastMyBedTime

Leave a Reply

