A Court of Mist and Fury Review! Spoiler free and Spoiler

A Court of Mist and Fury is the sequel to A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas and was published by Bloomsbury in 2016.
This may be my longest review to date, you’ve been warned.

THIS POST WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS! PROCEED WITH CAUTION!

She must surrender her heart to save a world torn in two”.
That should tell you enough about where this book is heading, shouldn’t it? After Feyre lost her life to save Tamlin, she was brought back to life by the other High Fae. At the end of book one, she goes back to the Spring Court with Tamlin to live out the rest of her immortal life with her true love.

I’m not going to go too far into the plot or anything here because I don’t want to spoil it for you but I do want to say how gosh darn amazing this book is. I’d go as far as to say it’s Sarah’s best book yet. It has action, romance, plot twists. It has everything you could possibly want in a book. Feyre has gone through some major character development, which has made her more interesting and great to read. You see the original characters and some new (and very welcome) faces who you can’t help but fall in love with! It’s one of my favourite reads for 2016 and I think it will stay one of my favourite books for the rest of my life.

Now, if you want to see my quote and rating, school all the way down until you see the ‘spoilers are gone’ in bold! Spoilers below the picture! You have been warned!

cdb1e6e099795bdc93db9f51c6e4bde7

I have a lot of feelings about this book but no one is going to read a 5,000-word blog post so I’ll keep it short!

Tamlin the tool. I actually love what happened with Feyre and Tamlin in this book, and not the abusive, possessive douchness. What happened with Feyre and Tamlin shows that not all romance last. Too often you see couples in books falling in love and staying together until death (Sam Cortland) but that doesn’t always happen in real life. Tamlin and Feyre show that love isn’t always what it seems and that sometimes you can change, for better or worse.

Feyre and Tam are engaged and she has one simple request for her wedding day: no red flowers. Ianthe (one of the new characters who no one likes, I swear) agrees that there won’t be red flowers because, hey. It’s her wedding. But the big day rolls around and she’s put in this stupid dress that’s fluffy and big and horrible, she walks outside to walk down the aisle to Tam and what’s scattered on the ground? White and RED roses. What was her one request? I started to really dislike Ianthe at this point. Feyre, looking at the red and thinking it looks like the blood of those innocent Fae she killed, starts to have a panic attack, begging someone to come and help her (non-verbally, I might add) and poof! Here comes Rhysand, everyone’s favourite bad boy. Rhysand has come to claim that deal she made with him in ACOTAR, and yes, coming in on the wedding day may seem douche-y but he had his reasons.

Feyre spends her first week with Rhys, he teaches her how to read (which made me laugh so hard because there’s a post somewhere on the internet about him making her read lines like “Tamlin is a douche, Rhysand is a God” and that’s essentially what he did) and work on mind blocks to protect her mind from being read and she meets his cousin Morrigan or Mor for short. Over the few times he sees her, he notices that she’s getting thinner, and she looks sickly. This could have something to do with her PTSD (nightmares every night, panic attacks when she see’s anything related to blood and there was a very large plot point that definitely confirmed, for me that she has PTSD) and the fact that Tam was doing nothing to comfort her really upset me, because I was rooting for them in book one.  But like I said above, I think it’s realistic that she wouldn’t be with him forever and ever.

Now, there were some things I wanted to talk about in regards to the plot, for example, the reason I think Feyre has PTSD. At the end of the first part of the book, Tam is being douch-y again and tells Feyre that she can’t go with him and in an act of bravery she decides she’s had enough and decides to go with him whether he likes it or not but he puts a spell on the house that acts as a barrier and prevents her from leaving. Feyre has a major panic attack, she feels like she’s back in her cage and she starts to hyperventilate and she blacks out. She’s reliving her time under the mountain by feeling trapped and locked away. Mor goes in and saves her, with Rhys waiting outside the borders of the Spring Court for her. She’s is definitely suffering from anxiety, and this isn’t the only panic attack she has.
Rhysand was a darling in this book. I loved him so much and he was very gentle and kind. He knew she was struggling and needed space and help, and so he gave her that. He showed her his city, his life and gave her whatever she needed to get through what was happening to her, even if that was to just leave her alone.

Then when we found out why Tam and Rhys hate each other so much, I lost it on the bus and cried. You think for all of book one that Tam is this great guy and he’s not, it was heartbreaking but it was such a powerful scene. Also, that scene when Rhys had used some magic to warm up Feyre’s bed for her and she thanked him for it (probably because it was the first nice thing someone had done for her in a LONG time), and he responds with “Amarantha never thanked me for that”… I almost screamed on the bus! 

YOU ARE FREE FROM SPOILERS NOW!!

This book hurt me in so many good and bad ways and there is so much I want to say about it that I just can’t fit it into one whole post. I said I wanted to start booktube, and I am going to so; let me know if you’d be interested in a book talk.

Anywho, I always have a quote and my quote this time is:

“You are my salvation Feyre” ~ Rhysand.

I give this book 5/5 stars. I never wanted to put it down, and it’s made me so excited for the next book.

I hope you all have an amazing week! Let me know what you thought of the book and what bits stood out to you the most!

13 thoughts on “A Court of Mist and Fury Review! Spoiler free and Spoiler

Leave a Reply

