Beauty and the Beast Book tag!

I was going to post this on Monday (which is my normal tag upload day) but I saw the new Beauty and the Beast photos (here) for the remake coming out next year and I won’t be online Monday as I’ll be with my friend all day, so I made the executive decision to post it now! I am so excited for this movie! I think most of us bookworms can relate to Belle! I saw someone say the Beast looks ugly on Facebook, which I think is meant to be the point… but I digress. This tag was originally by Kirsty and the Cat Read and I found it on Book Wish Blog‘s site about two months ago so, here are the questions!

“Tale as old as time” – A popular theme, troupe or setting you will never get bored of reading.

Forbidden love. Yes, like Bella and Edward; can’t be together due to one of them being a different species, or they’re rival families, or one of them is 100 years+ and has glowing eyes and you can’t be together because his kind kept you in a camp where they used you to kill bad creatures and feed off you… I’ll stop. I’m sorry

Belle – A book you bought for its cover that’s just as beautiful inside too

None. I have never bought a book simply because of the cover. I always read the back, the first page if the blurb didn’t quite grab my attention and check the Goodread reviews (yes. I know, bad move) and sometimes I buy the book because I’ve heard a lot about it on booktube or from other bloggers! I’d be lying if I said I had never picked up a book because I liked the cover, but I have never bought a book simply because I liked the cover

Beast – A book you didn’t expect much from by pleasantly surprised you

Outlander. I honestly didn’t think I was going to like it or want to read the rest of this massive series but I actually really loved it and I’m planning on reading book two after Christmas!

Gaston – A book everyone loves that you don’t

Elenor and Park by Rainbow Rowall. I could not get into this book, I had to DNF it at around 100 pages because I was bored. I want to try one of her other books, though just in case it was the storyline that I didn’t like.

leFou – A loyal sidekick you can’t help but love more than their counterpart

I love Paige too much to say Nick and Jem doesn’t count as the three of them (Tessa, Will, and Jem) are the main characters! I don’t think I can pick anyone!

Mrs. Potts, Chip, Lumier and Cogsworth – A book that helped you through a difficult time or that taught you something valuable

Harry Potter. It taught me so much about love, acceptance, loss, finding yourself, and more. I think most readers had (and still have) that connection to Harry. We all had the books at the right time in their lives and because of the ‘Boy who Lived’ we’re all better people.

“Something There” – A book or series that you weren’t into at first but picked up towards the end

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard. I still haven’t read Glass Sword, but I started enjoying the first book a lot more by the second half and I would like to see where it goes but I don’t think I love it, which is a shame because that plot twist was pretty good.

“Be Our Guest” – A fictional character you’d love to have over for dinner

 Jaxon Hall! I think he’d be a very interesting character to have dinner with! Either him or Erik from The Phantom of the Opera because I’d love to met THE opera ghost!

 

Those are my answers! Let me know in the comments if you’re excited for the new Beauty and the Beast movie too! I tag anyone who would like to do this and Hannah because I’m really interested in seeing her answers!

Next week there will be a Waiting on Wednesday and a book review for On the Other Side so keep your eyes peeled!

5 thoughts on “Beauty and the Beast Book tag!

  1. writingbolt says:

    You don’t seem to have a comment space on your main page(s). I wanted to say some of the best stories don’t have conclusive endings. As much as I like stories with closure, I also like stories that leave you pondering the continuation of the story. But, that is tricky to achieve/write for some authors. You have to give readers enough of the characters and their behaviors to let the story go on as if you could visit those people in your neighborhood.

    Now, to play along with this “tag” business:

    1) I don’t really follow what’s “popular.” But, it’s a tough choice between a cobblestone European village setting, a Renaissance kingdom and the older Far East with all of its pagodas, samurai, kunoichi and women dressed in kimonos/cheongsams. I also favor stories with mysterious women who often take other forms.

    2) Isn’t the back cover still part of the cover? I’ve liked many books for their covers. In fact, that is a main selling point unless the story is recommended to me by a trusted friend. It’s one thing to read a book with a story you are convinced will be worth the time, regardless what edition it is. It’s another to look for a book yourself; in which case, despite what teachers tell us, I look for someone who puts the effort into making a likeable cover, a cover that is as much a work of art and a story in itself. As a child, some of my fondest book memories come from gazing at artistic book covers and then taking that inspiration into my own drawing exercises. It is because of cover art that I was inspired to craft my own adventure/fantasy books.

    However, I cannot presently think of a book that has a grand cover AND a grand story. At least, not a “beautiful” story. But, the edition of Robin McKinley’s “The Hero and the Crown” I read had a lovely cover and was a pretty good–occasionally creepy–story.

    3) One of the most memorable books I read was “A Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich.” From the premise, I had zero interest in it. But, it was probably the first book that didn’t upset me and was easy to comprehend/visualize. I could vividly see myself in the scenes and the tools he crafted/used to survive prison. “A Tale of Two Cities” was torture to read but also had its surprising share of visuals and what later would become my tool of choice, metaphors.

    4) This one is easy. “To Kill a Mockingbird.” I run into so many who favor this book, and it is so dry and dull to me. I don’t care if it’s written exquisitely. I just see no interest in the story. However, Scout is the type of girl with potential to star in other stories.

    5) I cannot think of any books I’ve read with sidekicks that stand out. Most stories I recall reading involve a single, solo hero/heroine who interacts with other people but doesn’t exactly keep anyone with him/her regularly.

    6) I guess “The Hero and the Crown” and “A Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich” were both memorable and inspiring. They’d be the only books I’ve read that stuck with me enough to teach me anything. But, I can’t say what other than tips on surviving harsh times/misery.

    The books that get me through the toughest times have been Fighting Fantasy pick-a-paths (from my youth) and crossword puzzle books (in my adult travels). 🙂

    7) I don’t want to repeat myself (with my sad list of books read as a non-avid reader). I never read any of the Harry Potter books, but, thanks to my sis, I did take to the movies…only to be disappointed after the fourth. I became heavily immersed in a lengthy detective series most recently, reading 20 of the 26+ books. It started as research for a story of my own and ended up being a substitute for crosswords when I needed a break/distraction from emotional difficulties.

    8) I don’t have anyone from a novel I’m dying to meet in person but could easily give just about any heroine from the stories I’ve read a try. Likewise, I can think of a few comic book characters I’d invite. On the flip side, I don’t think there is anyone from the pick-a-path books I read that I’d invite because most if not all of the characters were a tad creepy. 🙂 [I blocked out the creepiness to explore the settings.]

    If the movie is anything like the CW TV series, I’ll pass. And, didn’t they just come out with a Beauty and the Beast live-action movie a year or two ago? Something about a guy who gets warped into some tattooed, scarred creep (not looking the least bit like an animal)?

    Like

    • firetothepoppies says:

      Hello! Thank you for your comment. Usually tags are answered by the tagged person on their own blog – where they then tag someone else or leave it open as I have, and I have a exam today so it took me a while to get through your post, sorry! In answer to your question about the b&b movie, I believe you’re talking about Beastly? It was out when I was about 15 so, it’s been a while now. I don’t know if there’s been one since then though!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hannah says:

    Oo thanks for the tag lovely! I’m excited for this movie adaptation to see it in comparison to the Disney film version tbh. I do love fairy tale adaptations but the most recent TV series was a bit eh to be honest. Much preferring the inspired ACOTAR 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

