Waiting on Wednesday #2

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly feature hosted by Jill (Breaking the Spine) that lets our readers know which books we are most looking forward to! Today I am letting you all know about RoseBlood by A. G. Howard! The author of Splintered has written a new book that will be published on the 10th of January 2017, and (according to Goodreads) is a modern twist on the original tale of… wait for it…. THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA!

That’s right, kiddies, a book based on my greatest love; Opera Ghosts! I am so excited for this! I have Splintered but haven’t been able to read it yet; however, I have heard some wonderful things about A. G. Howard’s stories so I am pumped for this book.

In this modern day spin on Leroux’s gothic tale of unrequited love turned to madness, seventeen-year-old Rune Germain has a mysterious affliction linked to her operatic talent, and a horrifying mistake she’s trying to hide. Hoping creative direction will help her, Rune’s mother sends her to a French arts conservatory for her senior year, located in an opera house rumoured to have ties to The Phantom of the Opera. At RoseBlood, Rune secretly befriends the masked Thorn – an elusive violinist who not only guides her musical transformation through dreams that seem more real than reality itself but somehow knows who she is behind her own masks. As the two discover an otherworldly connection and a soul-deep romance blossoms, Thorn’s dark agenda comes to light and he’s forced to make a deadly choice: lead Rune to her destruction, or face the wrath of the phantom who has haunted the opera house for a century, and is the only father he’s ever known.

Doesn’t that sound good? I love opera, musicals, reading, Phantom specifically. I’ve got a slight obsession with the original story and the musical so, I think this novel is going to be perfect for me. And isn’t the cover haunting? It really draws me in and was actually the first thing I saw and then I saw the words ‘phantom of the opera’ and I just knew I need this story! I believe this book is a standalone which means the end is going to be great! I also read, on Goodreads, I believe, that Howard was inspired by both the original novel and Phantom by Susan Kay, which is the story of Erik’s life from birth until the beginning of the original novel.

Have you heard of this book? And if so, are you excited to read it because of the author or because it’s inspired by The Phantom of the Opera? Let me know in the comments! And if you do like Phantom, let me know: are you team Erik or team Raoul? 

Leave a Reply

