Mine just happen to be more visible than most – Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas

Throne of Glass is the debut novel by Sarah J Maas and was published by Bloomsbury in 2012. This novel has become one of the most well known YA fantasy novels, with a colouring book (which is stunning by the way) and TV show in the works (which I am equal parts worried for and excited for).

fontcandy-10

After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin.

Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for four years and then be granted her freedom. Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilarating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her … but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.

Then one of the other contestants turns up dead … quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined

Sarah has written a well-paced novel inspired by Cinderella that captures your heart and mind as you join Celaena on her quest to freedom.

fontcandy-11

Celaena Sardothian isn’t just an assassin. She’s THE assassin. She’s sarcastic, fun, and quite angry a lot of the time. Which makes sense when you’ve read the books and learn about everything she’s been through, trust me, it would make anyone angry! I loved Celaena, I think she’s a great character for young girls to look up to but also learn from. She isn’t a saint and she can be childish at times (sticking her tongue out at people) but I love that, I love MC’s who aren’t perfect because it’s more realistic. She’s also a kickass character who can hold her own which is why I think she’s good for young girls; I know Celaena would have made me more confident in high school if I’d had her then!

Chaol Westfall the Captain of the Guards and one of the first characters we meet. Chaol is brave, he’s loyal (possibly to a fault, which is something you learn in later books). I like Chaol, I think he’s a very interesting character who you can’t help but love towards to end. He’s also got a crush on Cealena, and it’s obvious as anything! I think Chaol was one of those characters that, while reading, you knew was going to be more important than they first appeared. And also his bromance with Dorian! He’s a great character with his faults, which I love!

Dorian Havillard is a loveable puppy and nothing is going to change that opinion I have of him. Unless Sarah makes him into a bad guy… not the point. Dorian is a bit arrogant, he’s obviously good with the ladies and obviously has a thing for a certain assassin (yay love triangle!) I loved Dorian, I think he’s a very interesting character who’s going to go through some interesting character development.* He reads, which is another big plus in my love for him and he like’s animals. Potentially perfect guy?

fontcandy-4

I was sceptical going into this book. I normally don’t love books that have as much hype around them as this one does but I loved it! I thought it was well written and Sarah has the most amazing world building that you feel like you’re in these worlds with these characters from page one! There are lots of little hints in this book that are obviously going to be important later on**.  The characters were intense and complex, the plot was intriguing and the names impossible! Everything you have to look for in a fantasy!
I’m about to write a sort of spoiler so you have been warned!
I liked that Sarah wrote in Celaena’s period cramps! I know that might sound weird, but there aren’t a lot of books that deal with these sorts of things even though they happen to most women. I think more books should talk about these kinds of things becuase it helps younger readers to not be as anxious when it comes to the topic of menstration.
Spoiler-y things are done!  
I want to give this book either a 4.5 or 5 stars. I thought it was amazing but it’s not my favourite in the series (Crown of Midnight was). The reason I gave it four on goodreads was because I worked out who the killer was way before it happened but with the rest of the series, I’ve been shocked every time something happens. I’m going to read them again next year so I can 100% make up my mind on the rating.

fontcandy-2

As always, here is my favourite quote from Throne of Glass. Obviously I also loved “you could rattle the stars” (I have my own eye of Elena) and I love the quotes about reading etc. but I think this one holds the most meaning to me and doesn’t get as much recognition as it should (it probably does and I’m just missing it):

fontcandy-5

What did you think of this book? Who’s your favourite character? Let me know in the comments.

*Please note, as I write this I have read all the books currently published.
** There’s actually something mentioned in book one that’s important in book four! That’s how far in advance Sarah thought!

14 thoughts on “Mine just happen to be more visible than most – Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas

  1. Girl Who Reads says:

    I LOVED this book! I love the love triangle, and I’m mainly team Chaol, but I know that she doesn’t end up with him nor Dorian. . . I’m looking forwards to what happens though!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

