Death by Tea ~ The Pale Dreamer: A Bone Season Novella

The Pale Dreamer is Samantha Shannon’s first novella for The Bone Season series. Published in 2016, it is available as an e-Book and will be available in physical form next year in The Bone Season when it released with the new covers.
This will be a different sort of review as I don’t need to introduce you to anyone! But there will be spoilers below because I have a lot of things to say about this!

fontcandy-10

A dreamer is born- in the perilous heart of Scion London, a dangerous and valuable poltergeist is on the loose- and it must be caught before chaos erupts on the streets of the capital. Here, the clairvoyant underworld plays by its own rules, and rival gangs will stop at nothing to win such a magnificent prize. Sixteen-year-old Paige Mahoney is working for Jaxon Hall, the most notorious mime-lord in the city. He thinks she is hiding a powerful gift, but it refuses to surface. Maybe this is the opportunity she needs to secure her position in his gang, the Seven Seals…

Samantha Shannon invites us into the world of Scion London once again, reuniting us with old friends and teaching us more about the world she has created. A quick read for loyal fans and a speedy introduction if you’ve always wanted to read this series, I would highly recommend The Pale Dreamer

fontcandy-4

There will be spoilers in here, so please read the novella before reading my review! Because I’m nice, I’m not going to tell you the name of the poltergeist, that can be something you learn for yourselves if you do decide to continue reading!

Now, I’m pretty sure I’ve said this before, but Nick and Eliza are two of my favourite characters in this series and there was just enough of both of them to keep me happy. There was a wonderful scene (where the title of this review came from) where the two of them are telling Paige the history of the poltergeist they’re after. I love this scene because Nick will be talking and then Eliza will take over and so on. It’s just really cute and you can see how close they are because they can finish each other’s thoughts! Eliza and Nick are so much like family, it’s lovely to read. There was also a great bit towards the end where Eliza gets a bit sassy at Jax which I loved. Lord knows, Jax needs to be sassed every now and then!
You see Haymarket Hector which was… oddly nice? Hector was always an interesting character for me because he was so rude and horrible all the time, you have to wonder what made him that way. Cutmouth was in it, too, and I quite liked her towards the end of The Mime Order, so it was nice to see her. And of course, I can’t forget my darling Ognena Maria. You see her briefly, too and I adore her! I think she’s one of the best characters Samantha has written in this series and I do hope we keep seeing her for the rest of the books!

I also love that this novella is set at least 4 years before the first book takes place (Paige is only 16 in this) but there was a moth on her window a couple of pages before the end. It seems so fitting, now, that she should take on the name Black Moth, considering it was there at such an important time in her life. Makes me wonder if she thought of that when picking her name!

I gave this book 5/5 stars. I thought it was funny, I got warm fuzzy feelings (as was promised), I thought it was well paced for how much was in there and how short it is, and I thought it was quite interesting as we got a bit more history into the syndicate, Paige, and Nick.

fontcandy-2

Ah, my favourite part of the review: the quote. There’s always something  that stays with you forever, I think, and each book or series has one of those, whether it be a scene, a line, or a whole paragraph! The quote I picked today is lovely, and I think a lot of us have had someone who has saved them in some way. Another reason I picked it is because of the relationship between Nick and Paige. It’s just so sweet and, for a while, heartbreaking and definitely one of my favourite things about this series, they’re so close. Anyway, I’m blabbering! Here’s the quote:

fontcandy-12P.S. I had to make the photo that’s on all by myself and I feel quite proud!

Have you read this series? Have you read the novella? If you said yes to either of these, let me know in the comments what you thought! Until next time,

Rhi x

4 thoughts on “Death by Tea ~ The Pale Dreamer: A Bone Season Novella

Leave a Reply

