I turn myself down occasionally, just to keep it interesting ~ City of Bone by Cassandra Clare

fontcandy-10

When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder― much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing―not even a smear of blood―to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

Cassandra Clare introduces you to a world where all the stories are true and nothing is what it seems. A complicated love story, interesting lore that you just need more of, and some of the best characters in YA literature, you’re in for one hell of a ride.

fontcandy-11

Clary Frey is our protagonist. She is a relatable 18-year-old girl, hanging out with her friend, Simon and just living life. When she sees a demon killed at a night club, her world changes and she realises she might not be just Clary Frey.
I found Clary to be a likable character who you could relate to quite easily. She went to the ends of the Earth to save her best friend and her mother. Despite learning that her mother hadn’t been 100% truthful, she still did everything she could to find her, which just shows how loyal she is.

Jace Wayland is the sassy one. He’s the first Shadowhunter that Clary really interacts with and the one she ends up falling for (understandable with that sass). The only problem is, their relationship is being, shall we say, complicated by matters which I cannot speak of as I will spoil the ending. I liked Jace. I think he has an interesting story and family history, one that is quite strange. Having a father letting him bathe in spaghetti to killing a pet bird certainly paints Jace in a shade of ‘complicated-bad-boy’. I liked him, though. I think he’s one of the better male protags in YA literature, he’s definitely one of my favourites!

fontcandy-4

Going into this, I knew I was going to like it, because my best friend of just on 9 years had been trying to get me to read it for almost as long so I knew a lot about it before reading it (yes, that includes big spoilers you don’t find out until book 3). I did like it, for the record, but I think knowing as much as I did sort of took something away from it. I like spoilers, I sometimes actively look for them but knowing everything is a bit of a bore.
I thought the character were well developed and all the good guys were likable and/or relatable in some way.

I liked Cassandra Claire’s world, and how she painted the city. It was the same place I’ve seen in movies and pictures but it was completely different once I learned more about the shadow world.
I thought Clary was interesting, but I’m not 100% sure I love her. I like her quite a lot, but I don’t love her as I have with other characters. I loved Isabelle (one of the Shadowhunters) and I loved Alec (her brother), I thought they were wonderful, and both of them are quite interesting. I also really enjoyed Magnus Bane (High Warlock of Brooklyn) and I would have to say was my favourite, I just think he’s an amazing character and I love how he’s in every series this woman has written- thank goodness for that!
Now, Simon. I’m not going to lie; I don’t really like him. I know, unpopular opinion but I have a few of those (wait for my Raven Boys review, ya’ll gonna hate me). And I think a lot of it has to do with book two, but he bugs me for whatever reason.

Anyway, this was just a quick review because I don’t have that many feelings over this book, the later ones I will probably have more to say and I DEFINITELY have a lot to say about Infernal Devices trilogy (book one review here) and I am re-posting this because I hated the original, but, as for City of Bones, I would give it a 4/5 stars. It’s a gripping story with wonderful characters and good plot twists, but I do think this is a series that you have to go into knowing nothing the first time around. It loses something when you know the ending, I think.

fontcandy-2

One problem; I didn’t really have a favourite line while I was reading; all the ones I can remember came from book 2 and 3. So, my quote from City of Bones is (curtsy of Goodreads [also sorry the picture is from the movie, I couldn’t find a nicer one]):

fontcandy-14

Until next time, Rhi xx

9 thoughts on “I turn myself down occasionally, just to keep it interesting ~ City of Bone by Cassandra Clare

Leave a Reply

