Christmas Book Haul

Hey, everyone! How are we all? So sorry for my absence! Life has been pretty tough the last few weeks and then I had Christmas, so I decided to take a break from extensive social media use and blogging, just so I could relax and enjoy my holidays with my family and friends. I should be back into the swing of things this week but the latest will be after New Years.  Thanks for sticking around, if you’re still here. Sometimes life can be tough and we just need a break and need to shut off our brains for a little while.

Today’s post is a book haul but for the books I got at Christmas. Now, I kind of hate Christmas hauls because it can seem like bragging and showing off how much money your parents, friends, and family have. I’m only showing you the books I got (which was pretty much the only thing I got) and not the other little trinkets I received (mostly chocolate).

The first book I got is called Wrapped by Jennifer Bradbury.

img_6531

It sounds really interesting and it’s a pretty short read too, it’s only 309 pages, and something a little different to what I normally read so, I’m excited to read it. Here’s the blub, curtisy of GoodReads:

Agnes Wilkins dreams of adventures that reach beyond the garden walls, but reality for a seventeen-year-old debutante in 1815 London does not allow for camels—or dust, even. No, Agnes can only see a mummy when she is wearing a new silk gown and standing on the verdant lawns of Lord Showalter’s estate, with chaperones fussing about and strolling sitar players straining to create an exotic “atmosphere” for the first party of the season. An unwrapping.

This is the start of it all, Agnes’s debut season, the pretty girl parade that offers only ever-shrinking options: home, husband, and high society. It’s also the start of something else, because the mummy Agnes unwraps isn’t just a mummy. It’s a host for a secret that could unravel a new destiny—unleashing mystery, an international intrigue, and possibly a curse in the bargain.

I’m really excited to get into this one, but it will definitely be a 2017 read for me becuase I have too many to finish now and I just know I won’t get them done!

The next book I got is An Illustrated History of Notable Shadowhunters & Denizens of the Downworld

img_6530

I’ve already read all of the characters from The Infernal Devices trilogy but I’m going to leave the ones I haven’t finished or started because there may or may not be spoilers but I absolutely love the illustrations, they’re beautiful and I’ve always loved seeing other people’s interpretations of the characters!

The next book I got, I’m so excited about! My local bookstore had the hardback edition of Empire of Storms by Sarah J Maas, but it has the poster by the amazing PhantomRin and has a short story in the back! I am so happy to have this, it’s not every day you see a hardback for one of your favourite series, let alone a Target special edition!

img_6528

And finally, I got a gift card for my local bookstore which means I can finally go off my book buying ban! This month’s haul shall be much better than the last!

How was your Christmas? If you don’t celebrate Christmas, did you have a nice Haunnaka or Holiday Season?

Until next time, Rhi xx

One thought on “Christmas Book Haul

Leave a Reply

