Favourite Books: 2016

The year is almost over and with it, some of the most awful things will, hopefully, come to an end. This year has been one of the most stressful but rewarding years of my life, I got into a new school and I’ve started doing thing’s that are way out of my comfort zone, like starting a blog and talking to people (including authors I admire) when in the past I was too shy to do anything like that!

Because the year is almost over I thought I would share with you my 3 favourite books from this year and three that I read that weren’t published this year. I’ll alternate between books published this year and books published in other years, These are in no particular order, by the way. Just stating them as I think of them,  Every book I’ve mentioned in this post got 5/5 stars from me on goodreads, so I won’t bother giving you ratings as I go along!

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas.

img_6627

When I sat down to read this, I thought I was going to hate it because I had seen a lot of rumors and I was scared for my ship/characters. By the time I got 100 pages in, I knew I didn’t want it to end. Something about Rhysand, his inner circle, and Velaris made me feel safe and calm, which might sound weird, but if you’re read this book (and liked it) you’ll know what I mean.
This book made me cry so many times but it also made me laugh and, at one point, I wanted to throw it (which has become an increasingly normal feeling for me while reading).
It blew me away and I’m planning on re-reading it before A Court of Wings and Ruin comes out next year and you can read my review here.

Crown of Midnight by Sarah J Maas.

img_6626

This was my favourite book in the series so far. A lot happened in this book, a lot of heartache too but it set up the rest of the series perfectly for me. The characters in this book were wonderful (but it is missing Manon), and I enjoyed every second of it, even the ones where I was crying. I do enjoy the Throne of Glass series, and I am planning on re-reading them before the final book in the series is released next year.

Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

img_6623

I absolutely adored this book. It was one of the best books released this year, and with the sequel coming out in only a few months, now is the perfect time to pick up this book! I enjoyed every second of this story, Amani is such a strong and feisty character who you can really look up to which makes her a wonderful role model for young adults because she makes mistakes and accepts them rather than trying to avoid them or place blame. This book is also extremely diverse, which is wonderful to see and the lore and history of the Djinni just draws you in!

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon.

img_6622

I remembered how much I loved this book the other day because I saw season 2 in stores. While this book took me ages to read because of the size, I was captivated from start to finish. It was well paced, which was good considering it’s over 800 pages. I never felt like the story was dragging on or going too fast for me to understand it. I’m very excited to start A Dragonfly in Amber next year!  

On the Other Side by Carrie Hope Fletcher.

This book made me cry non-stop. I have a review for the book here but a quick run down of how I felt was: READ. THIS. BOOK! I think this was one of the best books I have ever read and the minute I started reading, I couldn’t put it down. There were so many times I said I was going to bed and then didn’t because I was too busy reading this book!

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh.

img_6624

A wonderfully diverse book that has you falling in love with the art of storytelling. I adored this book, it’s well written and simply wonderful. I loved the main characters, Shazi and Khalid and I freaking loved Jala and Despina! I’m currently reading the final book in the duology and it’s just incredible! Renée has a way with words that just makes you want to keep reading.

I hope you all had a wonderful year and I wish you a safe and happy New Year!

Until next year, Rhi xx

Leave a Reply

