Demon pox, oh demon pox just how is it acquired? ~ Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare

Clockwork Prince is the second book in the Infernal Devices trilogy by Cassandra Clare and was publish in 2011.

fontcandy-10

In the magical underworld of Victorian London, Tessa Gray has at last found safety with the Shadowhunters. But that safety proves fleeting when rogue forces in the Clave plot to see her protector, Charlotte, replaced as head of the Institute. If Charlotte loses her position, Tessa will be out on the street—and easy prey for the mysterious Magister, who wants to use Tessa’s powers for his own dark ends.

With the help of the handsome, self-destructive Will and the fiercely devoted Jem, Tessa discovers that the Magister’s war on the Shadowhunters is deeply personal. He blames them for a long-ago tragedy that shattered his life. To unravel the secrets of the past, the trio journeys from mist-shrouded Yorkshire to a manor house that holds untold horrors, from the slums of London to an enchanted ballroom where Tessa discovers that the truth of her parentage is more sinister than she had imagined. When they encounter a clockwork demon bearing a warning for Will, they realize that the Magister himself knows their every move—and that one of their own has betrayed them.

Tessa finds her heart drawn more and more to Jem, but her longing for Will, despite his dark moods, continues to unsettle her. But something is changing in Will—the wall he has built around himself is crumbling. Could finding the Magister free Will from his secrets and give Tessa the answers about who she is and what she was born to do?

As their dangerous search for the Magister and the truth leads the friends into peril, Tessa learns that when love and lies are mixed, they can corrupt even the purest heart.

Cassandra Clare shows us more of the beautiful world of Shadowhunter London as well as showing us other parts of the United Kingdom, teaching us more about the lore and history of Shadowhunter world. We are introduced to new, important characters along with seeing all of our old favourites.

fontcandy-11

Tessa goes through so much in this book. From batteling her inner demons to fighting real ones made of steel and clockwork. Tessa is in love with both Jem and Will, which is fine if you like love triangles. I’m not a fan, and I really want her to get with Jem (I’ve read all three book now so I know what happens in the end but I’m not going to spoil it for you) but I’m also okay with her picking Will.

Will is learning more about himself in this book too. He realises that he is, truly and desperately in love with Tessa, and also that his best friend is going to die one day, that his pararbatai won’t be there forever. While Jem has accepted that this would be the case long ago, he still takes the time to be kind to everyone and also falls madly in love with Tessa. I won’t say anything else, because it will spoil the book for you but have the tissues handy!

fontcandy-4

I thought this book was better than the first one, I loved every second of it even if I did find myself crying every time Jem said something or someone mentioned him. There was one scene where I really should not have been crying but found I couldn’t help it (if you really want to know what scene I’m talking about you can ask in the comments but spoilers). There were some really beautiful scenes in this book that it’s too hard to mention them all.
I love Jem and I love these characters so much. Charlotte and Henry are just so sweet. I can’t remember if I’ve already said this but Henry is one of my favourite characters. He’s so sweet and kind and he always means the best for everyone, even if he doesn’t always know how to show it without making a mistake.
I gave this book 5/5 stars, this trilogy only gets better the more you read.

fontcandy-2

There are so many beautifully written lines in Cassandra Clare’s book but the most amazing come from this trilogy. I had too many to pick from but this one stood out to me the most, which is why I chose it.

fontcandy-15

My next review will be for the final book in the trilogy, Clockwork Princess. Until next time, Rhi xx

 

Image behind the quote was found on google but is from Short Story Long  

Leave a Reply

