In Your Eyes I Have Always Found Grace – Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare

In the final installment in the Infernal Devices trilogy by Cassandra Clare, hearts will be broken and repaired again, friendships tested and true love prevails. Who will survive and who will say goodbye?

fontcandy-10

Danger and betrayal, love and loss, secrets and enchantment are woven together in the breathtaking finale to the #1 New York Times bestselling Infernal Devices Trilogy, prequel to the internationally bestselling Mortal Instruments series.

THE INFERNAL DEVICES WILL NEVER STOP COMING

A net of shadows begins to tighten around the Shadowhunters of the London Institute. Mortmain plans to use his Infernal Devices, an army of pitiless automatons, to destroy the Shadowhunters. He needs only one last item to complete his plan: he needs Tessa Gray.

Charlotte Branwell, head of the London Institute, is desperate to find Mortmain before he strikes. But when Mortmain abducts Tessa, the boys who lay equal claim to her heart, Jem and Will, will do anything to save her. For though Tessa and Jem are now engaged, Will is as much in love with her as ever.

As those who love Tessa rally to rescue her from Mortmain’s clutches, Tessa realizes that the only person who can save her is herself. But can a single girl, even one who can command the power of angels, face down an entire army?

 fontcandy-11

Tessa makes the hardest decisions of her life in this book, and it ultimately leads to one brilliantly written novel. Her relationships with Will and Jem are both heartbreaking in their own way, but also so beautiful.Her relationships with the other Shadowhunters living at the institute are very exciting and the sacrifices she makes for them will break your heart.
Will is going through some horrible things as well, not only is he always on alert that he might loose his parabatai, he also the thought that the only women he’s ever loved is engaged to his best friend, and his sister now living at the institute being a constant reminder that he left his family to save their lives and, at least for the beginning of the book, a total pain. At least that’s how he sees her!
Jem is getting worse and it’s happening a lot faster, but not once does he let it affect him until it’s too late, and he has no choice but to stop. Jem has some of the most beautiful lines in this book, he never fails to say something touching that rips your heart to pieces. Jem makes a chouce in this book, a very hard and important choice which, ultermately, was the best thing he could have done.
This book brought back so many beloved characters, but it also took a few. I won’t say who died in this book but have tissues with you just to be safe!

fontcandy-4

This book absolutely smashed my heart to pieces but then repaired it. There were so many times I cried and the majority had to do with Jem… again! Something did happen in this book towards the end, and I might mention it in the comments so you won’t get spoilers in the post but I was really angry. I understood why it happened but I was really, really mad that it did.
All in all, I was very happy with the way the trilogy ended, I thought it was rounded up nicely and had everything I wanted and, by the time you’d finished the book, everyone was happy! And I do mean everyone.
As much as I hate him, Mortmain is very clever. The way he set everything up was so well done, you’re not sure who is going to win! And Jem, of course, remained my favourite character for the whole series. I love him with every fiber of my being.
I gave this book 5/5 stars, it used everything in its power to make me cry and laugh and feel, which is just what I’ve needed after the last couple of weeks.

fontcandy-2

Once again, there were some beautiful parts in this book, I even named this review after one of them: “in your eyes I have always found grace” which was in a beautiful part of the book which made me cry and smile all at the same time. Which probably had something to do with what was happening at the time… *insert River Song saying ‘spoilers’ here*.
The one I chose for this review though was very touching and very true, and that is:
fontcandy-16

I love this quote. I think a lot of people forget that there is so much to life and that dying is something that means you have lived, not dying doesn’t mean you haven’t lived.

I’ll be in the comments to talk about that bit I didn’t like but until next time, have a good night!
Rhi xx

Photo behind the quote found on Google but originally from Short Story Long 

2 thoughts on “In Your Eyes I Have Always Found Grace – Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare

Leave a Reply

