O, Lift Me From The Grass ~ Poetry

Hello all! Sorry I’ve been away again but I’m back now and should have a post up every week. I thought I’d kick things off with another poem! This will be the second poem, and once again I’m not going to go into interpretation because I don’t know that much about poem, and I think the face value of these poems are just as good.

Today’s poem is: I Arise from Dreams of Thee by Percy Bysshe Shelley

This time I’ll include the whole poem because it’s not as long as the last one. This poem was included on the soundtrack for the 1987 Beauty and the Beast TV show but I can’t remember if it was featured in the show itself. This one is also beautifully written. I’ve put my favourite part in bold, just in case anyone was interested!

I arise from dreams of thee
In the first sweet sleep of night,
When the winds are breathing low,
And the stars are shining bright
I arise from dreams of thee,
And a spirit in my feet
Has led me – who knows how? –
To thy chamber-window, sweet!

The wandering airs they faint
On the dark, the silent stream, –
The champak odors fall
Like sweet thoughts in a dream,
The nightingale’s complaint,
It dies upon her heart,
As I must die on thine,
O, beloved as thou art!

O, lift me from the grass!
I die, I faint, I fall!
Let thy love in kisses rain
On my lips and eyelids pale,
My cheek is cold and white, alas!

My Heart beats loud and fast
Oh! press it close to thine again,
Where it will break at last!

I know, it’s not everyone’s cup of tea. A lot of people don’t like older poems but I love the imagery this photo brings up, especially at my favourite part.
Obviously, this is a love poem, and the person talking in the poem is madly in love and keep finding themselves at their window and thinking about them, begging to see them more. I think maybe they can’t be together because, at the end, it talks about broken hearts.

I really like this poem, have you heard of it before and if so, did you like it?

Until next time, Rhiannon xx

Leave a Reply

