For the Silenced ~ The Song Rising by Samantha Shannon

The Song Rising by Samantha Shannon is finally here! And yes I am posting this on release day,, because I’ve already read it. This post kind of has spoiler but get comfy and get some tea kiddies, we’re in for a wild ride.

Following a bloody battle against foes on every side, Paige Mahoney has risen to the dangerous position of Underqueen, ruling over London’s criminal population.

But, having turned her back on Jaxon Hall and with vengeful enemies still at large, the task of stabilising the fractured underworld has never seemed so challenging.

Little does Paige know that her reign may be cut short by the introduction of Senshield, a deadly technology that spells doom for the clairvoyant community and the world as they know it…

We’re back in Scion London, but don’t get too comfortable because we’re going for a trip! Along with London we see Scion Manchester and Edinburgh and boy oh boy are they different.
This book had so many plot twists towards the end and let me tell you, you won’t see them coming! I won’t say too much because it will ruin the whole ending and I do not want to do that but you are in for a treat. What I will say is the ending is something else, and not once was in ever hinted at. Ever.

Paige Mahoney was strong and brave during this book. At nineteen, I could never have even conjured up some of the things she’s gone through. There was one specific thing that happened towards the end of the book, in the last part, that made me feel so bad for her, but she stuck through it and never gave anyone an ounce. Her bravery and loyalty to her friends and people are what make her one of my favourite characters. I think it’s great to have a strong, female lead who stands up for herself but also makes mistakes along the way; it shows she’s human.

Warden was again, quiet and reserved but you do learn a little something about him and his past, which I thought was interesting and a great addition from Samantha that I hope gets explain in more depth soon.
I loved the scenes with Warden when he was alone with Paige (get your mind out of the gutter, ya nasty). There were some beautiful parts where they were just talking to each other and it makes their romance more real, to me anyway. If you scroll down far enough in this post and you don’t mind spoilers, I’ll tell you what that part was!

Jaxon Hall. My sweet little trash baby is still as trashy and lovely as I remember him. He has a great scene with Paige towards the end of the book and, as you’ve probably all read it by now, the prelude is pretty damn good too. But that scene with Paige! Wow, I had goose bumps, I screamed, I rolled my eyes at Jax (which is pretty normal, really). But all in all, I do still love that man.

The Mime Order is made up of the most amazing people, who I love dearly. I loved seeing Paige with Eliza more, she’s definitely one of my favourites along with Nick, obviously! But Ognena Maria, I love her more than words can describe. Firstly, I think she’s just amazing and secondly, she called Warden ‘big man’. How amazing is she? Please fan-girl with me over this wonder of a women!

This book caused me to shake, scream, and cry. I sobbed on the bus which is never fun! Especially when you get someone sitting next to you and you don’t know them. Paige and Warden’s scenes broke me into tiny pieces. They have the most amazing chemistry and, once again, the relationship is handled with care. As you guys will know, I love how their relationship because they do have such incredible chemistry, and a deep understanding for each other that goes beyond knowledge. I think their romance is something that needs to be done well due to the nature in which it started but, as always, Samantha has delivered a well written and believable relationship.
Of course, The Song Rising wouldn’t be a Bone Season novel without at least one death, and you might find yourself crying quite a bit, I know I did. I also feared for a characters life and started shaking so hard I couldn’t hold the book! I had to cover the next page so I couldn’t see the fate of this character so I could actually continue reading. I still have the video where I tried to snap while reading it and it’s kind of funny to see now!

There was a lot of political talk in this book which I also apricated. Again, I won’t go into it too much because of spoilers but do know, this book is going to make you think, not just read.
There was one scene at the end, during New Year’s Eve celebrations when a dancer wears a dress made out of black moths, and it just really cemented the fact that Paige has made a huge deal of impact on these people’s lives, and has given so many of them hope that they never would have begun to feel had it not been for the Paige and the Mime Order.
All in all, I gave this book 5/5 stars. I would give it more if I could, it was just so amazing. I know we had a long wait for this book, but it was so worth it. I can’t think of another book I would willingly wait this long for. Every second of this book had something amazing in it and I couldn’t put it down. I hope you all enjoy it!

As always, I have a quote. Now, this time it was very hard for me to tell, I wanted to say it was the last line of the book but the whole book is just filled with words and sentences that made you think and feel,  and it made it very hard for me to pick just one, and maybe over the next few weeks I’ll share all my favourites on twitter but for now I have gone for the quote:

I feel like this just worked so well for the scene and because Paige is the Black Moth, I thought it worked even more. I managed to get the flames from the front of the book into the words so I’m feelng quite smart now!

Anyway, I hope you enjoy this book. Please let me know if you’ve enjoyed it as much as I did and please talk to me about it down in the comments!

Until next time,
Rhi xx

 

P.S. as you can see, the title of this blog is actually the dedication. That’s because I think it might be the best dedication I have ever had the pleasure to read.

P.P.S. the scene I was talking about above was *SPOILERS* in the back of the truck when Paige looks up at Warden, and then she grabs his hand and holds it for the trip. It just broke me, especially after the end of part one! Samantha! I still haven’t recovered!

P.P.P.S. Thank you again to Bloomsbury for being so amazing and giving me the opportunity to advocate Samantha’s books. I am truly honoured

Leave a Reply

