You Open Always Petal by Petal ~ Poetry

I started this, literally, months ago and I can’t believe I’m only now finishing this up. Life gets hard sometimes, and it just got in the way of some things that were important.

As I said ages ago, I was going to share three poems with you and, finally, I have for you the third one. I found this one from the soundtrack that accompanied the Beauty and the Beast TV show. The song ‘The First Time I Loved Forever’ (which is as cheesy as it sounds, seriously. Click me) contains sections of a poem by E. E. Cummings called ‘Somewhere I Have Never Travelled, Gladly Beyond’. I think, possibly, this might be my favourite, along with the Tennyson I first posted. It’s a lot shorter in comparison but it’s so beautiful. I’ll put my favourite parts in bold for you, but before I go into what I love about it, I’ll let you read it.

somewhere i have never traveled, gladly beyond
any experience, your eyes have their silence:
in your most frail gesture are things which enclose me,
or which i cannot touch because they are too near

your slightest look easily will unclose me
though i have closed myself as fingers,
you open always petal by petal myself as Spring opens
(touching skilfully, mysteriously)her first rose

or if your wish be to close me, i and
my life will shut very beautifully, suddenly,
as when the heart of this flower imagines
the snow carefully everywhere descending;

nothing which we are to perceive in this world equals
the power of your intense fragility: whose texture
compels me with the colour of its countries,
rendering death and forever with each breathing

(i do not know what it is about you that closes
and opens; only something in meunderstands
the voice of your eyes is deeper than all roses)
nobody, not even the rain, has such small hands

Please excuse the grammar in that piece. I copied it from a website and everywhere I looked, it was written the same so I won’t change it just in case that’s how it’s meant to be!
What I love about this poem is how it talks about love, and takes all the good and bad extremes of love and makes them sound so beautiful. This poem makes you feel what a strong, deep love feels like, even if you’ve never had that kind of love (points to self).

I don’t know, something about this poem just resonates in me and makes me smile whenever I read it. It’s beautiful and honestly, I don’t have words. I also really love listening to Ron Perlman reading it, I kind of wish I had him reading the whole poem! That would be nice.

Anyway, I’m still working on that review! I’m trying very hard to make it sound good, but I’m struggling! It should be up end of the week or early next week, promise!

Until then, Rhi xx

Leave a Reply

