2017 Mid-Year Freak Out Tag

Hello everyone! Today I will be dong the Mid-Year Freak Out Tag! This tag originated on Chami’s and Ely’s channels and the basis of this tag is to round up how your year of reading has gone thus far!

Best book you’ve read so far in 2017?

I would say The Book Thief by Markus Zusak and Caraval by Stephanie Garber. Both stories were fantastic, I couldn’t put them down and I definitely want to read them again at some point. Obviously I also really enjoyed A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas!

Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2017?

I’ve read two so I’ll just list them both. The Rose and the Dagger by Renee Ahdieh and ACOMAF. But does that count as a sequel when it’s the third book? Yes? No?

New releases you haven’t read yet, but want to?

Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahideh, THUG by Angie Thomas and Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor (which I have started). I bought THUG while I was on holidays so I’m excited to start that one too!

Most anticipated release for the second half of year?

Because You Love To Hate Me edited by Ameriie! I’m so pumped tor read about the villains! (Also Samantha Shannon is writing one of the stories and she’s my got to author so…)

Biggest disappointment?

I am currently reading Akarnae by Lynette Noni and it’s bugging me. If you follow me on Instagram than you’ll have seen my stories on this book. Like, the plot is good but, personally I don’t think it’s been executed that well. Everyone has told me that it gets better in the second half and I only have 70-ish pages left and I’m not seeing it. I’m sorry! I really wanted to love it

Favourite new author (debut or new to you)?

Stephine Garber and Markus Zusak. Both have wonderful stories but Markus has such a way with words, I was blown away by his writing in The Book Thief!

Newest Fictional Crush?

I actually don’t have one, but I do kinda love Lazlo Strange from Strange the Dreamer

Newest favourite character?

If I’m being honest? Ognena Maria from The Bone Season series by Samantha Shannon. I read The Song Rising last year but as this is a 2017 release I’m going to include it! She’s so kick ass, I love her so, so much!

Book that made you happy?

Same answer as last year: all of them

Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year (or received)?

Definitely The Song Rising by Samantha Shannon (both covers) and Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor; that cover is AMAZING!

What books do you need read by the end of the year?

What ever ones I feel like, I guess. I threw TBR’s out the window a looong time ago! But I do have some books to read for school (including Dracula) that I need to get read!

Favourite book community member?

Since last year I’ve made so many friends! Matthew (@penguinsareawesome97 on instagram), Ashleigh (A Frolic Through Fiction), Danielle (The Chronicles of Danielle) and Kristie (@bookwormkristie on Instagram). Each one of them has been supportive, kind and welcoming and I’m so grateful to them for welcoming me into the community with open arms!

 

Thus ends my freak out for 2017! Excited for the rest of the year!

Until next time (which is soon), Rhi x

Leave a Reply

