I Flew! And cried…

Hey, guys! So, I thought I’d share with you what went down during my trip to Melbourne over a month ago (pictures and videos included) because I had the most wonderful time and I’d like to share it with you guys. I’m going to do this per-day because I have lots to say about certain days and I don’t want this to be too long.

Day 1:
I got to the airport with my mum and I was really excited and a little nervous because I’d only been on a plane one time before and I was a year old. I decided I wanted to take pictures of literally everything so here’s a random photo of the front of the airport in Tassie:


Then we got inside and we had a coffee and a little look around at the stores before boarding our flight. I got very excited when I saw my baby at the bookstore!


I took my book out of my bag (which was Girl in Between by Anna Daniels) and had my gum and head phones at the ready so my ears didn’t pop (my friends ear drum almost burst once so I was just being careful). Finally, it was time to board and I was fine walking onto the plane, and if you’ve never been in a plane they are very big. Like, they look big and they are!) but once the plane started to move, I lost it. My emotions were already out of this world but then the nerves and the realisation I was going to see two of my idols perform hit me and I burst into tears. Once I got in the air I was fine, but apparently taking off was scary! I actually really enjoyed flying, it was fun and in hindsight, the take off was really exciting.

 

We got food and a drink because we had in flight vouchers we didn’t know about and that was fun, mostly I just liked looking out the window and the clouds and the cities below us and I think I read a page, probably not even that while I was on holiday. I think next time I’ll just listen to an audiobook. More lightweight and leaves room for me to buy more books! *wink wink*

We landed and I had no problem with that at all. The bump at the end was fine but the first time he dropped a few feet I thought I was going to lose everything I’d eaten! We had a bit of a walk to get the bags (Melbourne airport is HUGE) and when we walked outside the first thing we saw was a massive screen advertising My Fair Lady which mum and I were going to see the next evening and was something to cross off my bucket list: see a large scale musical. Also, meet Anna O’Byrne but that’s later.


We make it to our hotel and the receptionist was one of the nicest people I have ever had the pleasure of meeting and I hope she’s still there next time I go to Melbourne. We get settled in our room and had a little break before we went off and had a wander. We walked up the street, got the tram/bus/train cards and ended up having lunch at good ol’ KFC because it was cheap. Then we went and had a bit more of a wonder, I bought some cheap wine and went to a lolly shop where I got a zombie chew which I hadn’t had in years and we went back to the hotel. We went out for dinner and the restaurant was right next to our hotel, they gave us free garlic bread and drink and the food was really good! Staying on a street that does mostly Italian food was a great idea! When we got back to the hotel, we watched The Nanny and Castle and then went to bed for day 2.

The cool thing about our hotel was that we were right across from a little store called Koko Black. Now, this means nothing to most people but for me, it felt like.. I don’t know. Fate is the wrong word. Six years ago, I had wanted to go to Melbourne to see Love Never Dies because it’s the Phantom sequel and you all know how I feel about that! Anna O’Byrne was in the show at the time and I loved her, I had a card from her that a friend got me and I never got to go. But KoKo Black had done a VIP ticket bundle for Love Never Dies and now, six years later I’m seeing Anna in a show and staying across the road from the same people I almost had chocolates from. It was weird and slightly poetic to me, I don’t know why!

 

Anyway, that’s all for this one. I should have the next one up soon!

Rhi xx

Bonus pictures! The plane while I was waiting to board, the second My Fair Lady poster I saw and one of the best hot chocolates I’ve ever had:

One thought on “I Flew! And cried…

Leave a Reply

