Fire to the Poppies

living through words


Best 2017 Reads!

I wrote this and had it scheduled but it didn’t post so I don’t know what happened. Anyway, enjoy.

Well, well, well. It’s New Years Eve… where did that come from?

This year saw the release of many good books, and I read some very good books so, in no particular order (even though you know whats coming first) here is my favourite 2017 reads/releases

The Song Rising by Samantha Shannon

IMG_0757Paige is going through some real crap in this book, thanks for breaking me Samantha, really nice of you. All of the best characters are in this one, and my baby Ongena has many wonderful lines. I’m in the process of re-writing the review I had for this novel because I hate the original but I will tell you that there are plot twists like nothing in this book and I love it!

Stalking Jack the Ripper and Hunting Prince Dracula by Kerri Manisalco

7704OH MY GOD. Okay, so I knew I was going to love this from the moment I saw the title but little did I know how much I would love it! Audrey Rose is an incredible feminist character. She’s not only sassy but she’s incredibly bright. In the second book, I love that she has to deal with her past and the trauma she’s gone through and is going through. I thought Kerri did a wonderful job but I’ll have a full review up on my blog at some point in the new year.

Caraval by Stephine Garber

27883214
You all know I loved this one. I read the majority of it in one day and it was fantastic! I wasn’t in love with the characters, especially not Tella, but I loved reading a story about sisters and the things sister would be wiling to do for one another. It was lovely in that sense and I am so looking forward to Legendary next year!

Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor

29748925
Boy this was a wild ride. I cried so much at the end and now I’m a little creeped out by somethings which you might work out if you’ve read the book… if not I’m happy to tell you. Laini has such a beautiful way of writing, though. She writes words that make you feel and imagine and its a beautiful thing to read. I’m going to jump into her other series soon, I hope but I cant wait to read more about Lazlo.

Foolish Hearts
Untitled
Look, a contemporary! I was lucky enough to win this book as an arc and I loved it. I loved that the main male character wasn’t creepy and respected her space. I also liked the diversity that was in the book too, there wasn’t an outstanding amount but there was enough to give it a nod. I thought this book was a lot of fun and I’m so glad I gave it a go.



Leave a comment

About Me

20 something year old reader, blogger, actor, and nerd who is also studying and working far too much.

Spotify playlist